Hostessing at Callaloo- what the experience was like.

Last night I helped out at Callaloo, my sister Amanda and her husband’s new restaurant.

My job for the night was to be the hostess. That includes.. cheerfully welcoming people as they arrived, making sure reservations were met, monitor the table rotation, keeping track of which tables are cleaned and available for new guests, taking to go orders, explaining the menu and chatting with the guests about Trinidad etc…. It was fun and nostalgic, it made me remember what it was like working in my Dad’s restaurants when I was a kid.

I must say that I was a bit nervous to begin, but after a few guests arrived, I got my jitters out and felt at ease. It helped that Ashley and Tim (our good friends) were the first guests to be seated.

Callaloo has been opened for almost a week now and the response to the food and restaurant has been amazing! I am so proud of how Amos (my brother in law/ chef) and Amanda conceptualized this dream. I’ve never seen Trini food done like this and it makes me even more proud to be a Trini. I was also amazed at how many Trinidadians I met last night, who knew!? I even met someone we grew up with and was sort of a distant relative by marriage…..living in Lancaster!!

The restaurant business can be explained in two words, ‘all consuming’. Last night I saw first hand that owning and operating a well run restaurant takes all of you- mind and body. It is not for the faint of heart and you have to know what you’re doing. At the end of the night I was tiiirrred!! I told Greg that my brain and all my nerves felt a little fried… and maybe that’s just my age showing. 🙂

Last night I left with three boxes of goodies for the kiddos and a slice of key lime pie to share with Greg. Trini food for breakfast! YAY!

Enjoy some pics from last night:

callaloo52

Save

Save

Save

Save