Prone to Wander

tumblr_lrqc47v7dq1qax672o1_500

Robert Robinson penned the words to this hymn at age 22 in the year 1757.

This is my favorite hymn:

“Come Thou Fount”

Come thou fount of every blessing
Tune my heart to sing your praise
Streams of mercy never ceasing
Call for songs of loudest praise
Teach me some melodious sonnet
Sung by flaming tongues above
Praise the mount I’m fixed upon it
The mount of thy redeeming blood 

Oh to grace how great a debtor
Daily I’m constrained to be
Let your goodness like a fetter
Bind my wandering heart to thee
Prone to wander, Lord I feel it
Prone to leave the God I love
Here’s my heart Lord,
Take and seal it
Seal it for thy courts above

Prone to wander, Lord I feel it
Prone to leave the God I love
Prone to hear you and not heed it
Prone to scorn you in your love
Prone to wander
Prone to wander

Oh to grace how great a debtor
Daily I’m constrained to be
Let your goodness like a fetter
Bind my wandering heart to thee
Jesus sought me while a stranger
Wandering from the heart of God
And He to rescue me from danger
Used his own precious blood

Mumford and Sons version of the German hymn:

 I love this song because it reveals my heart..Prone to wander, Lord I feel it.Prone to leave the God I love.Prone to hear you and not heed it.Prone to scorn you in your love.Prone to wander. I squander myself …..The desires of my heart are not trustworthy.Tune my heart to sing your praise.Bind my wandering heart to thee.

I am the prodigal son every time I search for unconditional love where it cannot be found. Unworthy and ever distracted, recognizing the counterfeit only when I am too far from home. Abused and spent I return home expecting to earn mercy from the father clearly undeserving ..and.. not expecting a celebration on my account!
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
An Excerpt from The Return of the Prodigal Son: A Story of Homecoming by Henri J. M. Nouwen

“At issue is the question: ‘To whom do I belong? To God or to the world?’ Many of my daily preoccupations suggest that I belong more to the world than to God. A little criticism makes me angry, and a little rejection makes me depressed. A little praise raises my spirits, and a little success excites me. It takes very little to raise me up or thrust me down. Often I am like a small boat on the ocean, completely at the mercy of its waves. All the time and energy I spend in keeping some kind of balance and preventing myself from being tipped over and drowning shows that my life is mostly a struggle for survival: not a holy struggle, but an anxious struggle resulting from the mistaken idea that it is the world that defines me.

Here the mystery of my life is unveiled. I am loved so much that I am left free to leave home. The blessing is there from the beginning. I have left it and keep on leaving it. But the Father is always looking for me with outstretched arms to receive me back and whisper again in my ear: ‘You are my Beloved, on you my favor rests.”

______________________________________________________________________________________________

I cannot tame my own wandering heart, Lord teether my wandering heart to thee.

Upon the Prodigal son’s arrival the older brother questions the father about his decision to welcome home his son home so freely when he had clearly wasted his life and his inheritance. The Father says, “But we had to celebrate and be glad, because this brother of yours was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.’” AMAZING GRACE!!!! I am humbled by the father’s reaction to his son who has come home…he has not humiliated him but has celebrated his return.

See (Luke 15: 11-32) For the parable of the prodigal son

 

Leave a Reply

