Downton Abbey

I think it’s because I feel as if I’ve read a good book after watching an episode..or perhaps it’s the one liners that are so cutting, pin point perfect and witty to a fault that makes me SO in love with the BBC series ..Downton Abbey!

Whatever it may be, I cannot get enough so for now..as I COUNTDOWN to DOWNTON… I’ll settle for having my morning cup with Anna and Bates!

Erik challenged me to make Downton Abbey coasters for our Meadow Tea shop since I’m a DA obsessed wife…..I was up for the challenge and created 18 character coasters, the manor, and a coaster of the iconic bell service(20 different designs in all)…It took some time to execute the artwork but I’m glad they came out exactly the way I wanted it to look and ‘feel’…I was most eager to get my very own Anna and Bates coasters made first..who would you most like to have tea/coffee with from Downton?

https://www.etsy.com/listing/125418196/downton-abbey-coasters-set-of-4?

anna and bates

DSC_0665

da 4

Because we just can’t get enough!!!

These quotes truly capture the essence of the characters:

Violet: Dowager Countess of Grantham
“Don’t be defeatist, dear. It’s very middle class.”

Robert: Earl of Grantham
“We’ve dreamed a dream, my dear, but now it is over. The world was in a dream before the war but now it’s woken up and said goodbye to it. And so must we.”

Cora, The Countess of Grantham
“I’m an American. I don’t share your English hatred of comfort.”

Lady Mary Crawley
“Dear Lord, I don’t pretend to have much credit with you. I’m not even sure that you’re there. But if you are, and if I’ve ever done anything good, I beg you to keep him safe.”

Lady Edith Crawley
“I can assure you, at this stage, there isn’t much that puts me off.”

Lady Sybil Crawley
“Sometimes it feels as if all the men I ever danced with are dead.”

Lady Rosamund Painswick
“I’m sorry, Mama, but you know me. I have to say what I think.”

Matthew Crawley
“I am the cat that walks by himself and all places are alike to me.”

Isobel Crawley
“But this is a war! And we must be in it together! High and low, rich and poor!”

Mr. Carson, The Butler
“Keeping up standards is the only way to show the Germans that they will not beat us in the end.”

John Bates, Lord Grantham’s Valet
“I don’t care about fairness, I care about you. The point is, I can get rid of her.”

Thomas Barrow
“I’m the one that got away.”

Tom Branson, Chauffeur
“Sometimes a hard sacrifice must be made for a future that’s worth having.”

Mrs. Hughes, Housekeeper
“I may not be a woman of the world, but I don’t live in a sack.”

Anna Smith, Head Housemaid
“The only ruin that I recognize is to be without you!”

Mrs. Patmore, Cook
“Too late for second thoughts now, Missy.”

Daisy, Kitchen Maid
“I can’t go. Don’t make me go.”

Sarah O’Brien, Lady’s Maid
“Well I’m not standing by while she brings misery and ruin on my lady.”

Leave a Reply

